Quince timing

CWTurner

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
So I have a flowering quince that has been growing in the ground for several years. I want to dig it up to get the roots in shape, do some chopping and separate out the suckers.
The flower buds are swelling now. I seem to remember the leaves come after. I don't want to miss by prime digging time and have to wait another year.
Anyone have a suggestion as to the best time to do this for quince, and is the timing the same for other plants that are early flowering?
CW

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I'm no expert on quince, but to my logic they used stored energy to make flowers. And they can flower the entire winter over here - from october until late april.
I'd go for it. As a matter of fact, the quince I have, have all been repotted and hacked back two weeks ago.

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
From the time the ground thaws enough to stick a shovel in to the ground, until leaves unfurl is the ideal window. Ignore the flowers.

If nematodes are an issue in your area, wait until the autumnal equinox. If nematodes are not a problem dig now in spring. If you never heard of nematodes, they are probably not a problem in your area. I'd dig this spring.

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
It has worked out better for me to do this and/or repotting in summer (i.e., after the summer solstice).

Lazylightningny

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b