Rainwater seems to make a difference

Joe Dupre'

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Anyone else notice after a big rainstorm that their bonsai seem to explode with growth? We just a had a few hour gully washer here, and it seems there is observable growth since this morning! I've kinda noticed a bit of difference in the past, but I have a newly collected sweet gum whose buds have seemingly doubled in size since this morning. I've been watering with tap water for these last 4 years but I may switch to rainwater. Goodness knows, we have an abundance of rainwater in South Louisiana.

Starfox

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
Absolutely, admittedly it doesn't rain a lot here but we had over half a years rainfall over 2 days on Easter. Now everything is popping, the 3 ginkgos in my forest that hadn't moved are all pushing green. Flowers are a bursting and it's generally a good time for observing growth, love it.
We also get a reasonable deposit of Saharan dust when it rains, not sure if it brings anything beneficial with it but it sure does make a mess.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I believe it to be the longevity of the watering.
No rain particularly.

Like the plant knows, in order to prevent root rot/ rid itself of all that water, it grows more to purposely have more leaves with which to remove or utilize that excess water.

Remember only we are concerned with keeping this growth, a tree in the wild only needs these leaves temporarily.

Sorce

amatbrewer

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b