Rationale for pinching

paulbrennan

Seedling
Reaction score
Folks, I'm new to this and have a juniper recumbens nana that I purchased as a bonsai. I think my guy said that I should pinch new growth tips - which is what I have right now. There are some online resources on how to do it but what I'm curious about is why I'm doing it and what the effect is supposed to be. Is it to get more density in the areas behind those tips, or maybe some other reason?

misfit11

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
As Brian says, don't pinch. This was the common practice that people did with Junipers up until 10 or 15 years ago. With guys like Ryan Neil and Bjorn coming back from Japan, we were corrected of this behavior as doing it, especially continuously, weakens the tree. Rather than pinching out tips, you cut at the node. This will encourage backbudding and is much less stressful for the tree.

Hope that helps

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
... That means you let them grow out until they stop by themselves for this season, and then you cut back to a node or a bifurcation.

The growing tips supply hormones to the roots, the roots need a boost before summer. If you cut back at the right time, it'll have plenty of growing season left to bud back and grow out again. Sometimes they flush once, sometimes twice so you could repeat the process one more time later in the year. But the second growth will be denser and don't always need another prune.

Japonicus

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I am literally spending YEARS correcting extraneous growth errors
from using pinching to define my pad shape or to keep it in parameters.
It never weakened my trees, I never got browning tips from doing it
but the pads became too thick shading out interior growth within each pad
and the strong upwards and outwards tertiary branches continued to be what
the pads were built on. So now, I have to deform the pads in attempts to correct this behavior.