red oak-should i buy it

Dave E

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
i'm kinda new to this and i just dumped some $ on basics-soil,tools,a couple small trees.
i've been trying to save for a decent pre bonsai tree something along the lines of a trident maple.

so i've been trying to avoid the garden sections at lowes,homey d,wally world the past couple days so i don't have any temptations.
well just came back from WM and guess what i did-went to the garden section.

there was a red oak tree in a large(5 gal) pot for $20.it had the kinda PHAT trunk i've been seeking.
at the surface it was 3"-3 1/2"and tapered to probably 2 3/4"-3" at around 4 inch in height.off to the side the main trunk (1 1/4")has been grafted.the transition is kinda funky but i think i can make it work.

my concern it seems like i hear negative things about grafted trees as bonsai.

for $20 should i go for it or am i better keeping that money and continue to save for a decent pre bonsai.

wish i taken some pics but heres some rough drawing to give you an idea what it looks like.
front and side
P1060529.JPG P1060530.JPG

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I highly doubt the tree has been grafted. More likely, it has been broken or sawed off and the shoot coming off to the side resulted from that. The tree produced that shoot by itself as a result of the injury. Your drawing shows what is a typical reaction to a "trunk chop" done in bonsai all the time.