Redwoods

the.ecologist

Seedling
Reaction score
Not a common tree. I saw one that had been grown as a bonsai and it looked very nice, it was at the place just a little south of Seattle with all the things I cannot remember the names of. Anyway, I have zero good or successful experience propagating them to a point they could be shaped or cut or anything else related to bonsai, so I am asking for a little advice and help on it, other than that I'm in a dry place that doesn't get cold and it's too hot and there isn't enough... I already realized, but I can set it up inside, though inside is by a vent and a window, since I'm limited to where I can place things without anything proper like a little greenhouse or a specific room I can run grow lights in.

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
There are limits to pushing the envelope. Pick another tree.

LittleDingus

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Not a common tree. I saw one that had been grown as a bonsai and it looked very nice, it was at the place just a little south of Seattle with all the things I cannot remember the names of. Anyway, I have zero good or successful experience propagating them to a point they could be shaped or cut or anything else related to bonsai, so I am asking for a little advice and help on it, other than that I'm in a dry place that doesn't get cold and it's too hot and there isn't enough... I already realized, but I can set it up inside, though inside is by a vent and a window, since I'm limited to where I can place things without anything proper like a little greenhouse or a specific room I can run grow lights in.

What species are you trying? I'm assuming coastal redwood (sequoia sempervirens)?

If so, you might try the other two species. It looks like there are several giant sequoia growing in New Mexico according to this page: