Repot dwarf jade?

Kynewt

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I picked up a large beautiful dwarf jade a few days ago. I was wondering if i should repot it? The soil is so compact that i cant even stick my finger into it. Makes it impossible to tell how dry the soil actually is. I’m new to bonsai and haven’t had to repot any of my plants yet and was wondering if this is a sign i should repot or just ride it out in this pot until next spring.

Attachments

• CA2CF557-6487-4741-B9FD-7959F990F055.jpeg
    CA2CF557-6487-4741-B9FD-7959F990F055.jpeg
    289.8 KB · Views: 148

Kynewt

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Saw off the bottom 50 to 66% of the roots and an inch or so of the perimeter and that's it. Nice tree!

so i repotted and trimmed the roots. It was pretty root bound. Should i just not water it and leave it in the dry soil for a week until the roots callous over? Also sun requirements. Should i just continue letting it get full sun?

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
It's like one giant root storage system and has lots of resources to apply to growth. Full sun and regular water. It will park for a while as it grows some feeder roots, but shouldn't look any different.

smc

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Out of curiosity - where did you find that fantastic tree?

At the moment, I know of only two people who sell really nice dwarf jades. Miami Tropical and also there is a guy who has an instagram account littlejadebonsai and he occasionally sells his trees on ebay (he has lots of good photos on his account for inspiration).

Kynewt

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Out of curiosity - where did you find that fantastic tree?

At the moment, I know of only two people who sell really nice dwarf jades. Miami Tropical and also there is a guy who has an instagram account littlejadebonsai and he occasionally sells his trees on ebay (he has lots of good photos on his account for inspiration).