Repot?

revjpb

Seedling
Reaction score
I'm new to Bonsai and recently received an inexpensive Fukien Tea from Walmart as a gift. I'm wondering how long I should wait to repot it and if there's a good time of year to do so? It was purchased buried in a 1.5 qt pot (see photos) with lots of soil and I'm worried the roots will stay too moist as I learn how frequently it likes to be watered. I live in Eastern North Carolina and plan on keeping it outdoors until it gets colder. Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_8177.JPG
    IMG_8177.JPG
    221 KB · Views: 24
  • IMG_8178.JPG
    IMG_8178.JPG
    187.6 KB · Views: 24

coltranem

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
...and I'm worried the roots will stay too moist as I learn how frequently it likes to be watered. I live in Eastern North Carolina and plan on keeping it outdoors until it gets colder. Thanks!
The frequency of watering is a function of the soil. If the soil holds more water you water less.

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Welcome to the site!

Fukiens like a lot of sun, and a lot of humidity. The reason people usually overwater them is because the air is too dry - ie they are keeping them indoors over the winter, the air inside the house is too dry, and they overcompensate by watering too much. Outside in the summer in NC, let it bask in the humidity.

The best time to repot would typically be in the spring, but with tropicals there are usually two windows - spring and fall. They push growth in the spring, go into a summer dormancy when the weather gets warmer and drier, and then push a second round of growth when cooler / wetter weather comes in the fall. You want to avoid the times when they are dormant; late spring - late summer, and late fall - late winter.