Repotting Season Questions??

dlquick

Seedling
Reaction score
I have multiple different species and all sizes of pines, maples, and conifers that I am looking to repot this week. I am fairly new to the bonsai culture, and have just barely made it through my first year tending to them.
Most of them are in 1gal nursery pots. Is simply slip potting them to the next size (2gal) pot, and adding soil sufficient enough? Of course I will perform a light root trim, and comb out the roots a little, but I do not want
to over do it as I am new to this after all.
Second, currently they are all in a pine bark, pumice mixture based medium. Should I continue to use this type of medium, or switch to something like Tiny Roots Premium Blend (Akadama, Lava Rock, Pumice)?
Third, what is the best type of granular/packet type fertilizer I can use? I can't seem to find exactly what I should be using.. I have no idea what I'm doing.. PLEASE HELP!?

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Very little in bonsais black and white. You are likely to get a whole range of different answers to these questions as different growers get different results in different places.
Slip potting (with appropriate combing outer roots to encourage them to use the new soil) should give you good growth but it won't address the issue of god nebari. Attractive, evenly spread surface roots are really valued for bonsai but the vast majority of commercially produced plants do not have well set up rootsystems owing to the way they are propagated and grown. As the trees and roots get thicker root problems become increasingly obvious and increasingly more difficult to fix. I'm all for addressing roots as early as possible so I would prefer to do a thorough root check and adjustment now if possible.