Rookie Needs Advice on Juniper Bonsai Care

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to this whole bonsai thing and I made this account for some advice. First off, I know most people don't reccomend housing junipers indoor, and currently I am but it's only for 6 months till I move out of my apartment, will that be ok? I bought the bonsai in this place that sells plants, but the women was most definitely not educated on bonsais, as she told me to water the bonsai twice a day. If what I've read is correct you should dip the pot in a bucket of water when you see the soil is damp for watering. I have it by window in "filtered light." I made a humidity tray and filled it with some old aquarium gravel. The plant's substrate is peat and a layer of pebbles on top. Should I replace the pebbles with the gravel, as the gravel I have is filled with some nutrients for aquatic plants? There are to stems/trunks on my current bonsai. One is short and the other tall. The shorter one has 2 more stems/trunks protruding from it. I'm going to order this fertilizer and use it soon (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...ue&ref_=ox_sc_act_title_2&smid=A2UZ41624K8LUQ) Is it ok to use? And lastly, there's about a month of summer left here, so at the end of summer do I stop putting fertilizer? Sorry if it was long. Aside from answering my questions I would appreciate any extra advice. Thanks.

DougB

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
First off welcome to the world of Living Art. And the first thing to learn is how to keep your trees not just alive, but thriving. And the second is patience. Bonsai are created in years not days. Also please add your location to your profile. Suggestion depend on your climate (location) and the species of tree. And pictures are always very helpful.