Root Grafting on JBP

ianb

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
Hi All,

I have a fairly nice shohin JBP that is in need of roots on one side as it was an air layer that didn't really root all the way around. Does anyone have any experience grafting seedling pine roots onto an established pine? Can you share any tips or tricks?

Here's the tree before cut back and wiring yesterday...
IMG_1722.JPG

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I have no experience actually doing a root graft on a JBP. I would assume it would be similar to a standard approach graft(?) My biggest question, based on your tree description, is the health of the cambium on the side of the tree you are wanting to graft the roots to. Is the cambium healthy if there are not any roots on that side of the tree?

AlainK

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
I have no experience either in grafting roots on a JBP, but I had plenty of seedlings, and a friend that spent several weeks in a Japanese nursery asked me for one for a graft.

No news so far, he grafted it last summer, I didn't see how it did, and he told me that so far the grafted 3-yr-old seedling "trunk" hasn't been severed yet: I'll let you know when he does, and what the result is.

ysrgrathe

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
I've heard from my teacher that it isn't done, but not why.

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
I've attempted them on an old JBP via approach grafting... all failed, mainly because I pulverized the seedlings attempting to fix them solidly in the wedge cut in the base of the receiving tree. I'll be attempting more on a different tree, a pre-shohin JBP, this spring, and will hopefully have better results.

ianb

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a