Root System of Brussel’s Chinese Elm

jg1903

Seed
Reaction score
I’m new to bonsai (first year). I ordered a couple of Chinese elm pre-bonsai from Brussel’s awhile back. I could feel something hard in the middle of the planter, but figured it was some growing medium or planter feature.

Awhile back, I pulled out one of them, and the trunk basically went into the soil and split into a “y” that was then cut off at a similar point on each side, with fine roots coming from those stumps. Are all of them like this? Is that normal? They’re the only Chinese elms I have, so I’m not sure. I ended up putting it in a larger pot, despite having a smaller pot I was going for.

It’s a bummer, because I wanted to chop a trunk down and go for a mini Shohin size, but those two massive stumps would never allow me to get it into the pots I was envisioning. Can I chop one off? Would the tree make it if I did? Thanks!

Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Usually when you order prebonsai online the roots are going to be a mess and it's one of the first things to try to deal with. You probably don't want to stick it in a smaller pot to start until you get the basic structure of the tree you want set up anyway. You want it to be able to grow a little more freely in a slightly oversized pot. You can air layer the tree (or ground layer) using part of the flare from the "Y" roots and start a new, much nicer root system. Post a pic of your tree and you'll probably get more help.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Unfortunately Chinese elms tend to grow just a few, thick roots when left to their own devices.
Mass produced starters are grown as cheap as possible because most of us don't like paying more so the root pruning that would have alleviated this is not usually done to keep costs down.