Rooting hardwood Podocarpus (thicker HW material, >1" thick) - possible?

SU2

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
I've just been in-love with Podocarpus and cannot find a yardadori I'm allowed to take and trunk-chop (right now feels like the perfect time, I'm not good with / knowledgeable about Podocarp's but I can see that spring-growth is strongly underway in them here and, far more exciting, *that they're budding spring-growth on old-wood*, I literally saw 5+ lil shoots coming from ~4' up the trunk of a ~20' podocarp yesterday, so rare to see new lil shoots growing from the trunk's thick hardwood like that and frankly it makes me suspect that it'd be just as easy for the thing to throw roots through such hardwood, provided the genetics are there at least! IBA may be sufficient for overcoming that though!!)

I can't find anything useful online sadly, will definitely "update the web" (ROFL) with what I find in my attempts, but can only find 2 references to hardwood propagation and both just mention you can do it (both were real generic / intro-type articles, nothing I'd place much faith in) I guess it's probably best to just bullet-point my main Q's here ;P

- If you can just root hardwood-cuttings like bougies/crapes allow, I'd love to hear any tips on how much foliage you leave on the specimen at rooting-time and any other tips (or if you even need foliage - with bougies you can literally just stick a 5" thick piece of branch into growing-media and it'll root&shoot!)