RoR for First Bonsai?

DrTolhur

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Howdy, y'all. I'm just getting started into bonsai and recently picked up my first tree: fukien tea. Unfortunately, it has a large and very prominent root that loops up out of the soil and back down. (I tried to attach photos, but they kept failing the upload process. Maybe they're not necessary given my points below.) I was thinking I might try making it a root over rock and arrange the rock into the root, but after reading through this forum a bit, I'm questioning that direction for the following reasons:
1) This is my first bonsai, and RoR might not be the best idea for a first.
2) The root looks already quite thick and woody, so it probably wouldn't meld onto the rock much if at all.

What are y'all's thoughts on dealing with this root? Am I right that RoR is not the best course at this time? Should I just cut it off? Any other creative ways to make use of such a silly root?

Last edited:

DrTolhur

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Uploading is working now, so here are the photos.
2020-04-18 Pot.JPGIMG_1749.JPG2020-04-18 (3).JPG

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
Fukien Tea, is not the easiest of trees for its horticulture. If you are already comfortable with the horticulture of an array of houseplants, Fukien tea should be easy for you. But if you are new to raising plants in general, especially in pots, Fukien tea will be a challenge.

There are plenty of Chinese examples of Fukien tea being used in root over rock plantings, usually as Penjing, rather than Japanese style Bonsai, but essentially similar in terms of horticulture. So it certainly can be done.

But for someone new to the hobby, ROR can be a bit "tricky".
How about a photo of the rock? Tree and rock side by side.

One mistake is often those new to the style use too small a rock.

So welcome to what can be a life long hobby. Always something new to learn.