"Rose of Sharon" Question

Guns286

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I took a trip to a local nursery and found a Hibiscus, "Rose of Sharon", with a really interesting trunk (I'll try to post pics of it later). The worker ended up giving it to me for free! It must have been sitting there for awhile because the soil was covered in weeds. Its in a 5+ gallon plastic pot and the tree itself is about 4'-5' tall. Due to the length of time that I think its been sitting around and the impression I get when I look at and touch the soil, I think this plant is root-locked.
Since it is the beginning of Fall here should I just get it ready for winter and wait to work on it until next Spring? Or, should I chop the roots, re-plant in better soil, and trim up the branches, before winterizing it?
FYI, the plant itself isn't in the best condition. I'm not an expert, by far, but it looks like its been thru some rough times.

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I dont know much about hibiscus, but my gut feeling is to overwinter it the best you can and repot in the spring.
October is not the right time to repot most things in the Northeast.

Cadillactaste

Neagari Gal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hibiscus is known to be hardy. If anything I have noticed black spot on many...recently in my neck of the woods. I would be leery messing with roots at this stage. Trying to just give it care it may need. It may need a fungicide over a root problem. Though removing the weeds in the pot I would.

Have a photo of it for us to maybe help with what is wrong?

berobinson82

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
From my understanding they can be root-abused almost like an olive... in spring. I picked up one this year also and look forward to comparing notes with you next year.

Attachments

• IMG_6759.jpg
    IMG_6759.jpg
    208.3 KB · Views: 149

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8