Rosemary Bonsai, some inspiring examples

aidan13

Yamadori
Reaction score
Wilmington, NC (8a) and Charlotte, NC (7b)
USDA Zone
8a
I have always been intrigued by the possibility of using rosemary as bonsai material. I am fairly new to bonsai, but it seems to me that, while admittedly unconventional, the pros of rosemary outweigh the cons.
It is fast growing, develops a very interesting bark, is naturally twisty and gnarly, and is very easy (in my experience) to care for. I feel like it would be perfect learning material especially because it is so fast growing compared to actual trees because beginners such as myself could experiment with and learn techniques and see the results in months, or possibly a year or two, rather than years and years or even decades.
Do any other members have experience with using rosemary as bonsai material? I have looked up the older threads on the topic, but most were from a while back, so I thought I post a new one.

Here some examples of rosemary bonsai that I've managed to dredge up from the web; some are actually pretty impressive!

Attachments

• 01%20Tosho.jpg
    01%20Tosho.jpg
    56.4 KB · Views: 227
  • 1315995414.jpg
    1315995414.jpg
    52.2 KB · Views: 228
  • is2.jpg
    is2.jpg
    44.9 KB · Views: 221
  • rmaryBT85euro.jpg
    rmaryBT85euro.jpg
    51.1 KB · Views: 208
  • Middlesex%20Bonsai%20Show%20008%20500.jpg
    Middlesex%20Bonsai%20Show%20008%20500.jpg
    50.3 KB · Views: 14,852

Brian Underwood

Chumono
Reaction score