Rough timeline for germination

Haines' Trees

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hey all,

So I've been attempting to grow a few different species from seed this winter. Some have come out of stratification while some are still in the fridge. I've never tried to grow from seed before and I'm having a heck of a time trying to find sources on about how long to expect before I see them sprout.

All seeds have undergone or are currently undergoing stratification and I did soak the seeds and sort out floaters and sinkers, so I should have eliminated most of the duds that way. Sprout time depends on a variety of factors I'm sure (I've got a light and germination mats, plus I've been watering according to the sources I find on given species), but if anyone has a rough ballpark idea of how long before they pop up I'd appreciate it.

The species I have are as follows:
Atlas Cedar Coastal Redwood
Chinese Sweetgum Cork bark Elm
Japanese Black Pine Japanese Red Maple
Japanese White Pine
Hinoki Cypress

The seeds that have been in the dirt the longest (the cedars) have been there for almost a month. I'm hoping I'm not just wasting my time making the dirt a little wet every day....

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
It sounds like you've sewed the seed in pots and put the pots in the frig. The most convenient thing to do, IMHO, is to place a few seeds on a small square of plastic (makes them easy to remove) laid in a fold of damp paper towel. One or more of these packets go into a sandwich bag (or similar) and into the frig.