sacrificial limb question

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
As a noob, am I comprehending the sacrificial limb concept correctly? Grow for trunk thickness, but for how long? I have this River Birch with a lower branch I consider the sacrificial limb that is going crazy, and I'm wondering if I should let it grow willy nilly, or should I try and control it more?

ldrb.PNGPXL_20220627_010251903.jpg

On it's way to longer than the tree!

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Ought turn it into a plan B, specially with a birch prone to losing limbs, but B plans are always a good idea.

Sorce

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
It's always a plan, a strategy, standard operating procedures and shoot & move, provide covering fire and watch your six, If your plan isn't fluid it's a rule not a plan.

I see you planned on ducking the limb question. & You changed your avatar.

19Mateo83

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I’m no expert and I could be wrong here, but to my understanding you let a sacrificial branch grow as vigorously as possible until it achieves your desired thickness. As long as it does not become the dominate leader there is no reason to trim it. A strong growing sacrificial = rapid thickening. You can also grow multiple sacrificials to keep the cut scars smaller and easier to heal.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I’m no expert and I could be wrong here, but to my understanding you let a sacrificial branch grow as vigorously as possible until it achieves your desired thickness. As long as it does not become the dominate leader there is no reason to trim it. A strong growing sacrificial = rapid thickening.
Thanks. This is also the one I posted when I almost killed it ( username checks out) It may be growing differently after the resurrection. this happened 3-4 weeks ago for context. It's better now. :)

PXL_20220607_223859529.jpg

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?