Satsuki, bonsai ou pas bonsai ?

Toche

Mame
Reaction score
I am new to this very nice forum.
I've seen that there are occasional discussions between members about azaleas.
The question that seems to come up regularly is: "Are they real bonsai?"
This question does not seem to be debated in Europe at least not in Belgium or France where they are admitted as such and in their own right as bonsai.
Azaleas, in the broadest sense of the word, have been my passion for many years and these discussions caught my attention.
So I naturally looked for the reason of these questions and I may have found where they came from.
There are many families of azaleas, two of them among others are regularly grown in pots. I am talking about Satsuki azaleas and Tsutsuji azaleas.
I think that a confusion between these two families of azaleas is at the root of this "problem".
Unfortunately, I can't bring any certainty, so these are only hypothesis.
It is up to you to see.

What are the differences between these azaleas?

At first sight, if you don't pay attention, there are none, they are two very similar families of azaleas.
They both make a lot of flowers, they grow very well in acidic pots, they can be pruned very well and there are many varieties...
However, if you look closely, you will notice that there are several points that differentiate them.

For example, the flowering period, I already talked about it in the history.
In general, Satsuki bloom about 30 days after Tsutsuji
Tsutsuji are spring flowering azaleas about 30 days before spring.
These are of course generalities, because the blooming also depends on the weather and the temperature.
It is therefore possible to see, as it is often the case during exhibitions, satsuki in advance of their blooming period, just as it is common to see Tsutsuji late in their blooming. It is also a question of preparation when exhibiting.

But there are other differences, the following two are natural.
The trunks.