Scleranthus biflorus

RKatzin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Aka Australian astroturf. I have been growing this for several years now both as a ground cover and accent plant in small pots.
It looks like moss, but it has roots and stays green all year. It's the best alternative to moss I've seen yet. I'm sorry I can't get pics to load this morning, but was wondering if anyone else is using it. It's really cool stuff and I haven't seen any negative effects of it growing with my trees.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
This is a zone 9 - 11 plant. How are you growing it in zone 7?

RKatzin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
This is a zone 9 - 11 plant. How are you growing it in zone 7?
Outdoors 24-7 full sun. My main patch is growing in a box with my Poncerus trifoliata and a smaller patch started in my Hinoki. I just transplanted some into small accent pots. Seems to like it here. It's hard to make the call on the ag zone thing around here. I'm at 3-4 thousand feet elevation, mountainous with a standing conifer forest. Lots of microclimates.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I don't get it. All info points to a tropical plant from South Australia hardy to zone 9 at best. Have you had this plant through the winter?

RKatzin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Yes I've had it for several years now. Lol I know you think of Oregon and brrrr! But not so much. I had to look it up and according to the chart we are a 9b-10 with an occasional dip to a 9. The pond will freeze over, but never solid enough to skate on.

RKatzin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone