Seeds of several Western Pines

Marc Wiehn

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Yesterday I received seeds of several western pines I bought online. I bought lodgepole, whitebark, jeffrey, limber, and sugar pine. Should I sow the seeds now and put the pots outside, protected against rodents to get stratified over winter? Or should I just wait until mid March and sow them then? This is my first try with western pine seeds.

I am in Indiana, zone 5b, our winters are usually cold and snowy.
Thanks!

jeanluc83

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I have only grown Pitch pine from seed but I stratified them in the refrigerator with good results.

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
I would. They all will have more uniform germination with a cold stratification. The advantage of sowing outside is they won't sprout until the weather is warm enough to be outside. You don't have to monkey around trying to give them bright enough light indoors.