Seeking advice for Tucson, AZ newb

heatherfarris

Seedling
Reaction score
I’m new to this world and to Tucson. My husband gifted me a Bonsai hobby for Christmas because I have been talking about it for years.

After reading many threads I have found a local nursery to visit.

My first question is what type of trees can we grow here? I have found so many different tree varieties in other threads and I’m just really overwhelmed with all the varieties and then figuring out where to buy them.

I was gifted a kit but the seeds are going to take a while and I’d like to try to get my hands on a young starter tree perhaps. Something to get my feet wet but I’m also confused on wintering plants here.

I could use all the advice.

Tree varieties, where to buy them, when to buy them, can we grow them during the winter months or should they be dormant right now?

Thanks in advance.

Deep Sea Diver

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Greetings and Welcome aboard BonsaiNut.

It’s a great hobby to start and you are in a fun area for Bonsai!

Here’s a tree list from the Phoenix Bonsai Society

I’d say your best bet is to begin by checking out their site, especially the section on soil for Arizona Bonsais.

There is also a Tucson Bonsai Society you Chan check out. Yet Phoenix has a more robust set of resources on their site.

Hopefully @Arizona bonsai or @AZbonsai heresy BonsaiNut could be of service down the line.

Cheers
DSD sends

heatherfarris

Seedling
Reaction score
So I took a look at their content and I found dwarf Japanese juniper at Mesquite Valley. I’m bringing it home with me but I’m wondering if the soil they put it in is the right soil. It looks to be potting mix and they put rocks on top.

They also said to water it by putting it in your kitchen sink for an hour? Does that sound right?

So much to learn! Thank you for telling me about Phoenix Bonsai Society!

AZbonsai

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone