Sekka Hinoki, Normal Fall Coloring?

57vert

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Newbie here. I purchased this Sekka Hinoki the first part of August. Is the yellowing normal fall coloring, or is something else going on? This yellowing has started the last week.
It’s been getting cold at night here in the NE USA, zone 6b.

Attachments

• C5C65669-53E9-4DEC-B78C-CC45C3BF16A9.jpeg
    C5C65669-53E9-4DEC-B78C-CC45C3BF16A9.jpeg
    373 KB · Views: 93

WavyGaby

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Yes, totally normal for Sekka. Those spots will green up again in the spring unless it's die back and it goes brown and crispy. You can press your fingers lightly on the brown area as a test and you can feel if it's still turgid or if it crumbles if it gets to that point.

ibakey

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi guys, I adore the sekkas cultiva too and recently purchased one from the northern europe i think.

It arrived with light green leaves, compared to my normal dark green leaves on my other sekkas.
Would this be the winter colour for sekka, or is it just a weird cultiva of a cultiva.

I have attached the first picture of the light green hinoki recently acquired and the second depicting my normal young sekka trees.

Weird Sekka Colour.jpgMy Normal Sekka Colour.jpg

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I really can't tell but the photos, but there are several reasons that the new one could have lighter foliage. To begin with, new growth is lighter green, so lets hope that is the case. Other reasons would include being literally kept in the dark, nutrient deficiency, or insect or mites. What I do see in the picture gives me cause for concern. I really don't like the color, especially the lower right branch. Hopefully you can have someone local assess its condition. There is not much use for an old man across the ocean studying a dubious photo image.
Best luck.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone