Semi-cascade palmatum

Velodog2

Chumono
Reaction score
Hello all. This is my first post in Bonsai Nut and I decided I would share a Japanese maple I've been working on for around 8 years or so that is cutting grown and appears to be kiyohime or similar. I've spent most of the time developing the cascading branch while I let a couple of sacrifice branches thicken the base before layering them off a couple years ago. I had intended to remove the topmost branch but have now decided to try to develop it as the apex, although it is relatively weak and is some years behind the rest off the tree. We shall see how my patience holds. The second topmost branch had gotten too long and I have partially cut it back this fall and am waiting to see how well it buds back before doing what needs to be done with the rest of it. There is also a "plan b" apex branch there that I will probably lose soon if the other development goes well.

There is obviously still a long ways to go to have a good bonsai here but I think I have developed a fairly decent base to work with. Any comments or suggestions are welcome. IMG_4119.JPG

JudyB

Queen of the Nuts
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Welcome, and thanks for sharing your work with us. If you put your location in your profile, that's always helpful.
:)

Velodog2

Chumono
Reaction score
Thanks for the likes.