Sequoiadendron giganteum advice

Icarus

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
U.K
Hi guys I am new to Bonsai. I planted 50 seeds for my Daughter's college project and a year on I have 24 8" seedlings. I fancy trying out the art of bonsai.

I have been told this type of tree is difficult but I really would like to try. Am I right in leaving them to grow for three years before attempting to repot in a flat pot?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks20220404_221303.jpg20220320_130516.jpg20220806_001122-1.jpg

Rivian

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I had a larger one but it died over Winter. Not sure why
I hope youre growing it outside

Arnold

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
11B
They have a strong apical dominance, so pinching the apex could be useful to promote lower growth, in UK they should be able to grow all yeat outside right?

Icarus

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
U.K
They have a strong apical dominance, so pinching the apex could be useful to promote lower growth, in UK they should be able to grow all yeat outside right?
I kept all seedlings indoors for the first 8 months. In the Summer all but one went outside. I water daily. They like full sun. I live in Devon and we experienced very sunny weather. Outside the trees have thicker trunks (due to the wind I think). Indoors the tree is nearly twice the size of the others but has a thinner trunk. So far the needles are a beauitiful green. So should I start pruning now? I nipped the mainstem on one as an experiment and within a week a secondary branch replaced it. At present they are growing about 2 inches a month. They are dormant for about 6 months during the winter.

Last edited:

Icarus

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
U.K
OK I practiced pruning (shaping) on a couple of my trees first one was a disaster. Here is my fourth attempt. 😀 May be a little early but the upper branches were cutting out the light to the lower ones.
Before:
20220823_124959.jpg20220821_170947.jpg

After: