Shari Videos

one_bonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
I'm still a beginner but would like to have a go at shari. Doesn't seem to be much on YouTube. Does anyone know where I could find a good "How to" video or guide? Any tips would be much appreciated as well.

Paulpash

Masterpiece
Reaction score
It's pretty straightforward:

Use chalk to trace out the edges of the shari - try and link it to a branch you're going to Jin or an existing deadwood feature already on the tree.

Use a razor sharp knife like a craft knife or scalpel to cut along both sides of the chalk lines you made. Press quite hard.

Using the tip of the scalpel carefully pick at the bottom of the lines you made. If you have cut deep enough both edges should lift up and start to peel. Very slowly peel the bark away. Stop if you feel resistance and recut the stubborn area. You don't want the bark to wander away from the lines you cut.

Do this technique during active growth, it'll be easier to peel. You can come back in later and pick out fibres and then peel small grooves using pliers.

It really is that simple. Good luck.

one_bonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
OK. Thi
It's pretty straightforward:

Use chalk to trace out the edges of the shari - try and link it to a branch you're going to Jin or an existing deadwood feature already on the tree.

Use a razor sharp knife like a craft knife or scalpel to cut along both sides of the chalk lines you made. Press quite hard.

Using the tip of the scalpel carefully pick at the bottom of the lines you made. If you have cut deep enough both edges should lift up and start to peel. Very slowly peel the bark away. Stop if you feel resistance and recut the stubborn area. You don't want the bark to wander away from the lines you cut.

Do this technique during active growth, it'll be easier to peel. You can come back in later and pick out fibres and then peel small grooves using pliers.

OK this sounds doable. Thank you.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone