Shimpaku has some yellowing tips?

AndrewS1983

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello I am fairly new to the art of bonsai and I was given some plants including this shimpaku my friend has been taking care of for 20 years . He gave it to me about 5 months ago and it has done well I haven't done anything to it except water I believe he has it in turface and some sort of loam . I do plan on repotting it in feb. or march? In a better soil ( in my mind) . It has a few ends that are yellowing and I'm wondering is that just because the weather change . I live in Northeast Oklahoma and it's been 50-80 degrees that last couple weeks . Thanks for any advice and if anyone knows of good threads on maintaining shimpaku and pad building They would be appreciated . I've been on here a lil over a year but rarely post , just read . Thanks again

Attachments

• IMG_1411.JPG
    IMG_1411.JPG
    406.8 KB · Views: 64
  • IMG_1412.JPG
    IMG_1412.JPG
    273.4 KB · Views: 61

KiwiPlantGuy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Hello I am fairly new to the art of bonsai and I was given some plants including this shimpaku my friend has been taking care of for 20 years . He gave it to me about 5 months ago and it has done well I haven't done anything to it except water I believe he has it in turface and some sort of loam . I do plan on repotting it in feb. or march? In a better soil ( in my mind) . It has a few ends that are yellowing and I'm wondering is that just because the weather change . I live in Northeast Oklahoma and it's been 50-80 degrees that last couple weeks . Thanks for any advice and if anyone knows of good threads on maintaining shimpaku and pad building They would be appreciated . I've been on here a lil over a year but rarely post , just read . Thanks again

Hi AndrewS,
I am no Juniper expert and hopefully others will chime in here.
My instinctive look at the photos makes me think this one could be a little hungry.