Shimpaku juniper direction

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Bonsai nutters, I seek assistance on deciding a front for my newly acquired shimpaku...

I purchased this from Jim Doyle at Nature's Way about a month ago and he explained it was created by a student of his. I really loved it at first sight but I'm having trouble deciding on a front, with a couple design issues presenting from either of the better sides to choose from.

Option 1: Picture 1 shows the side I'm leaning towards, yet my major issue is a lack of movement in the base. I'm pointing at an area I could expose more deadwood to make this side more convincing. Picture 3 shows a bit more detail of the top. My other issue with the beginning of the first first live branch I'd obscured with the option.

Option 2, picture 4 would be the other side, with much less deadwood visible but perhaps a more convincing shape overall. A drawback would be a less visible deadwood section overall through the trunk.

Attachments

• 20221106_195800.jpg
    20221106_195800.jpg
    252.3 KB · Views: 88
  • 20221106_195812.jpg
    20221106_195812.jpg
    204.4 KB · Views: 77
  • 20221106_195829.jpg
    20221106_195829.jpg
    265.1 KB · Views: 82
  • 20221106_195708.jpg
    20221106_195708.jpg
    254.5 KB · Views: 84
  • 20221106_195719.jpg
    20221106_195719.jpg
    274.9 KB · Views: 89

bonsaichile

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I like option 2, but either way you will need to rewire this guy and work on the apex and branch structure. It has a nice trunk, now you need to frame it with the foliage

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Well... if I'm going to be completely honest:

(1) The tree needs to be REALLY strong. It looks like it hasn't been repotted in a while, and I would take it out of that pot and put it in something a little larger so you can let it grow strong.