Shindeshojo and Full Moon Maple

JefeW

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Hey all! I’m new to bonsai and Japanese Maples. I received the Shindeshojo and Full Moon maples below. They are thin trunked and have grafts. I’m okay with the graft, but the trunks need to be shorter. My question is what should I do trimming/pruning wise? If this helps, The Full Moon seems far more delicate with very long internodes. The Shindeshojo is robust but the branches are very small and cluttered. Thanks all!

Attachments

• A20B959E-2771-439C-B737-C34990A1017F.jpeg
    A20B959E-2771-439C-B737-C34990A1017F.jpeg
    237.9 KB · Views: 161
  • 035ACBFF-9A6D-41CB-9A73-EFC7F2290284.jpeg
    035ACBFF-9A6D-41CB-9A73-EFC7F2290284.jpeg
    245.8 KB · Views: 168

Nanuk

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
Depends a lot on what you want the end results to be.
You say you are new at this. If they were mine I would concentrate my efforts at learning what
it takes to keep them healthy and happy. You can always cut, chop or prune at a later time.

There's a ton of great info here on this site. Do some serious studying in the maple section.

Good luck with them.

JefeW

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Thanks. The resource tab is wonderful. I’ve read a lot so far, very different than gardening.

As for what I want out of them? No clue. The pictures I’ve seen here of Japanese maples are nothing short of spectacular. The ones I have are lankier than I want. Proportionally it’s going to be way off if I leave the height.

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Neither looks to be an acer shirasawanum "Golden Full Moon" - leaf shape is not right. This is what GFM looks like. Leaves are somewhat large, but it is a magnificent small tree!

F413-09.jpg

New leaves of a. p. "Shindeshojo" are always coral red and 'fade' to green. Mine is still strongly red, overall, but fading. It should flush again starting in the next few weeks. Yours should do something similar soon.

Last edited: