Shindeshojo?

disandov

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
I've recently been on the hunt for a shindeshojo and happened to come across this one. I'm confused as to why it's labeled dissectum. Is it just an error on the nursery's part? Looking for advice and comments on this bonsai.IMG_1463.JPG

coltranem

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I've recently been on the hunt for a shindeshojo and happened to come across this one. I'm confused as to why it's labeled dissectum. Is it just an error on the nursery's part? Looking for advice and comments on this bonsai.View attachment 324389
Looks like it is grafted fairly high. I am not sure that can be overcome.

disandov

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Looks like it is grafted fairly high. I am not sure that can be overcome.
Where would that graft be? Real new to this and I'm just learning how to distinguish these things. Is it where it turns brown to green or even higher?

Rivian

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Yeah its possible but not in fall, do that in late spring/ early summer. Unless you live on the southern hemisphere?
This is just my personal experience but airlayers are far superior methods of propagation for Acer palmatum than cuttings. I got a Deshojo to root from airlayer this year and thats almost the exact same variety.
Make sure to watch some videos on airlayering so you dont make beginners mistakes and accidentally kill it. But in general its not complicated.

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Also this is not Bonsai just because in Bonsai style pot. Still just small nursery tree and likely overpriced. For most inducing lower branches would be desired but not on graft stock part of tree. Must develop upper part of tree and possibly airlayer trunk for better shorter reach to foliage;). What is personal location? Please add to profile.

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
When you get the tree, take a few pictures of the trunk.