Shohin Jap Maple

small trees

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8B
I got this one in a trade and it just arrived. I'm pretty excited about it. I'll post updates on this one as it progresses. Thoughts/comments are welcome.

Not sure why the pictures upload out of order. Pic 3 would be the front. Although I may like pic 2 better. it looks like it was wired with pic 2 as the front.

I believe it is in need of a repot, and it was suggested that I pot it into something shallower. I'm not a pot hoarder like most of you guys, so I will have to find a pot and buy it. If anyone wants to suggest a glaze, it would be appreciated. I do like the dark blue that it is currently in, but I'm not very good at envisioning what it would look like with a pot switched out.

Attachments

• 20140417_132927.jpg
    20140417_132927.jpg
    166.7 KB · Views: 236
  • 20140417_132943.jpg
    20140417_132943.jpg
    158.9 KB · Views: 254
  • 20140417_133001.jpg
    20140417_133001.jpg
    171.6 KB · Views: 228
  • 20140417_133012.jpg
    20140417_133012.jpg
    170.1 KB · Views: 205
  • 20140417_133212.jpg
    20140417_133212.jpg
    185.7 KB · Views: 224
Last edited:

drew33998

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8-9
That is an awesome little guy. I would be tempted to let the first branch on the right grow up into the apex almost like a twin trunk type.

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
Nice little tree with a nice base. Looks like a repot is in order...no worries on the next pot as the tree is still to young to worry about that. If this were mine, I'd be thinking about cutting back the top/lowering the apex a bit, and beginning to work on ramification. Good luck with it,

Dave

Neli

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
hot
Nice tree...I like 2 as a front simply because the scars are seen less.JM is not supposed to have scars.

small trees

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8B