Should I collect it?

twarawa

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
2A
I am brand new to bonsai and am exited to try collecting a couple of local trees to try my hand at.

I've been out looking a bit since the snow started clearing and trying to read what I can about the various aspects of bonsai for a while now.

I was out yesterday looking around a new area and found a whole bunch of what I believe are juniperus communis (Common juniper). Most of the ones growing in the area seem to creep along the ground. There were not to many tree like ones around.

Here are some pics of one I would like to try to collect. It's by no means a small tree at the moment (about 4 feet from the base to the top) but I should be able to find some help. I really liked the trunk line when I first saw it. I did clean up some of the insignificant dead twigs and such on it to get a better look at it.

Is there anything specific to junipers that I should know? Also, is there good potential with this tree or is it a waste of time?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Attachments

• Tree 1.jpg
    Tree 1.jpg
    198.7 KB · Views: 136
  • Tree 2.jpg
    Tree 2.jpg
    198.3 KB · Views: 127
  • Trunk 1.jpg
    Trunk 1.jpg
    206.5 KB · Views: 136
  • Trunk 2.jpg
    Trunk 2.jpg
    210.9 KB · Views: 118

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Have you ever collected a tree before? I ask because this one is going to take some experience in digging and aftercare. Juinpers aren't as easily collected as deciduous trees. Reading about collecting is nothing like actual collecting, well about 15 percent of what you read might be helpful.

If not, I'd leave this one be until you have a bit more experience. It's got some potential in age and movement in the trunk...