Smoke Tree - 8 years dug from garden

KiwiPlantGuy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a

Hi all,

I am having trouble deciding whether I need to trunk chop this Smoke tree again.
As you can see there is a big bulge in the left trunk and I wonder if the bulge is causing reverse taper ( or will do in the near future.
Also, with all the shoots on this trunk, do I let it grow for the season then thin it out etc?
Looking forward to everyone’s opinion on my path forward with this stump.

Attachments

• A506922E-CE8D-4C4B-A4F1-B29A623B77D0.jpeg
    A506922E-CE8D-4C4B-A4F1-B29A623B77D0.jpeg
    379.7 KB · Views: 25

j evans

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
I'm no expert but in my opinion the left needs to be cut below the bulges. Nice start!

defra

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
nice one charles!
i got a big smoketree in training as well !

its now kinda like a slingshot and i see a very nice singletrunk with movement and taper in there !

this is what i would do:
kiwi smoketree.jpg

KiwiPlantGuy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Hi defra,
Thank you for your thoughts and your computer efforts re virtual. Much easier to understand someone when the RED pen is out lol.
I had been kind of set on the twin trunk style of tree, but your input has me questioning that which is great and challenging.
Charles

defra

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Twin trunk could work too
But the two trunks are equal in thicknes and with this size already i imagine its hard to get the other one to get allot thicker

if if you want do the twintrunk style chop each trunks at 1/3 of the final height you want to have the tree to be

Airlayer one could easily be grown out as twintrunk tough

With the airlayering you will have three tree's :p

Single trunk
Twin trunk
Raft

KiwiPlantGuy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Twin trunk could work too
But the two trunks are equal in thicknes and with this size already i imagine its hard to get the other one to get allot thicker