So, my wife ordered me three Kishu seedlings . . .

orangeyeoman

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7B
And I know nothing about taking care of them. I'm a beginner just trying to keep two procumbens alive. She saw me reading about the Kishu, and thoughtfully noted it, tracked some down, and ordered them. Apparently they're in 4" nursery pots. I live in NYC in Zone 6A/6B, and have outdoor space that only gets afternoon sun for about 3 hours. A bit of that is crappy urban soil filled with Japanese knotweed, but I can plant them there if necessary. What should I do to keep these alive, and grow for a few seasons, until I learn what I'm doing?

If this would be better posted somewhere else, please let me know. Thanks.

BonjourBonsai

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Pot them, water them, keep them outside and protected until frost threatens. Less sun is good until they get established in a few weeks. Got to the next bonsai meeting at Brooklyn Botanic Gardens and study. Also enjoy the collection there, it's would class.

orangeyeoman

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7B
Pot them, water them, keep them outside and protected until frost threatens. Less sun is good until they get established in a few weeks. Got to the next bonsai meeting at Brooklyn Botanic Gardens and study. Also enjoy the collection there, it's would class.
Thanks. Pot them with bonsai soil, or potting soil, for now? How big a pot should I plan on? I have a couple days to prepare.

Deep Sea Diver

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
No need to do anything special.

Figure out what the little trees are already buried in and up pot a bit larger, say a 5” Tokoname pot.

Check out this link

Cheers
DSD sends

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?