Soil not "soil"

Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b
I started training this past weekend with the local bonsai "master". I went to his nursery and helped move a lot of trees out of their winter greenhouse. Most of these trees were near show quality and very healthy. I noticed that none of the trees were growing in bonsai soil, but rather just what looked like to be just potting soil. All were in shallow bonsai pots too. many of these trees were over 50 years old and some started in japan.
Ive always been told that to have healthy refined trees in shallow bonsai pots, you need well draining bonsai soil
so how are these amazing trees growing in "just dirt"?

BrightsideB

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
You should ask him what he uses. I know people use organics it’s not always Pumice and akadama. Usually a complex mix of things.

BobbyLane

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I started training this past weekend with the local bonsai "master". I went to his nursery and helped move a lot of trees out of their winter greenhouse. Most of these trees were near show quality and very healthy. I noticed that none of the trees were growing in bonsai soil, but rather just what looked like to be just potting soil. All were in shallow bonsai pots too. many of these trees were over 50 years old and some started in japan.
Ive always been told that to have healthy refined trees in shallow bonsai pots, you need well draining bonsai soil
so how are these amazing trees growing in "just dirt"?
Pics or it didnt happen😏

jonfromchicago

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5B
Could just be broken down Akadama if some of those trees have not been re-potted in a couple of years. Next time you're at the nursery, ask the teacher. I'm also curious to know. You can also grow healthy trees in any soil as long as you understand their watering needs.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?