Soil Question - Buxus Bonsai

Hawke84

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Hi,
im still learning and I know I have a lot to learn. last week i repotted my Buxus Bonsai as it was really unhappy, really pot bound and still in nursery soil.
question I had is around the soil. I bought some "Bonsai Soil" from a garden centre which said contains Kyodama. I can see the grains. I have since found a soil mix on ebay from a bonsai shop which is 1/3 John Innes, 1/3 Akadama and 1/3 Kyodama and looks a better structure (I welcome comments on this mix by the way).

Is my box in the soil I put it in? it feels quite dense when watered and the tree didnt need anchor wires which surprised me. I didnt want to go changing the soil again so quickly unless i was putting the tree at risk

20180429_080706.jpg

M. Frary

Bonsai Godzilla
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Is my box in the soil I put it in?
Only you would know that.
I wouldn't change the soil this year again.
It's better to ask a question before you do something.
Not after.

Hawke84

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Haha u have no idea what I was trying to say. John innes is just good soil compost in the UK.

Think basically the question is, does that soil look ok, if it's not shall I leave be this season or change now before the roots take hold?

I know it's better to ask questions before but I'm still learning, I thought I was doing right at the time now I'm second guessing myself

Last edited:

Hawke84

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Looks a little water retentive to me.
I like pumice and lava, with no organic stuff...
This is what I thought. As it was 7 days ago is it a good idea to remove the soil before it properly takes root or just leave be and manage it knowing the soil is water retentive?

A. Gorilla

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
they-dont-think-it-be-like-it-is-but-it-do.jpg

EPM

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone