SOIL WARS episode IV

Colorado

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Go figure that where this conversation left off is where this next Mirai podcast picks up. The more bonsai specific conversation begins about 35 minutes in (roughly) though, like the last one, if the sciencey side of horticulture and bonsai bore you, you’ll probably find this dry and “wordy”. That said I think Ryan only says the phrase “narrative arc” once in this one!🤣 This one delves pretty deeply into biochar/charcoal and it’s benefits as well as a plethora of other seaweed, microbe and fungus based soil topics. Another good one imho.

…and Karen O’Hanlon’s site

I ordered the “Bonsai Bucket” from her site, looking forward to giving it a try!

Maiden69

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
How long are you using this @Maiden69 ?
Do you notice a difference when you start using it?

Thanks
Chris
I have been using it on my lawn since 2019, and adding it to bonsai soil since mid 2020. IDK if there is any difference, but I can tell you that I seen growth on my trees that I have not seen in other trees here. But that may be fertilization, watering, etc... so many other variables.

Deep Sea Diver

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I don't buy the chunky charcoal, I use The Andersons BioChar as it breaks down into the soil giving me a better coverage instead of little chunks here and there.
Imho there are two ways of looking at this. It depends on one’s goals.

Easily broken down charcoal has a large surface area that allows the endobacteria etc to break it down faster and deliver it to the plant roots in ones media, garden, lawn. In other words, you are giving a quickly spent paycheck to the rhizosphere.