Some general advice dawn redwood forest

Darran

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi

I’m new to bonsai and have been gathering a few cheap plants from my local nursery. I came across this dawn redwood forest and was attracted to the front tree with the slightly bent base of the trunk.

The rest of the forest seems very congested at the top and very little trunk showing. Some of the trees have long branches that have obviously grown this year.

questions I have for the more experienced are

Can I prune this at this time of year, and should I aim for the classic conicle shape around the outline of the forest by reducing the height of some of the trees.

I assume getting light into the branches is also key to a healthy forest.

what else should I be doing at this stage with this little group And what should I be considering next spring etc.

Finally anyone in the UK keeping these, if so do you keep them out all winter.

Attachments

• C30BC5BE-768C-4FCA-A8A9-0142A5E7A165.jpeg
    C30BC5BE-768C-4FCA-A8A9-0142A5E7A165.jpeg
    276.8 KB · Views: 150
  • FD08BCF9-14DD-49F7-A675-3000B9349D1E.jpeg
    FD08BCF9-14DD-49F7-A675-3000B9349D1E.jpeg
    278.1 KB · Views: 102
  • 6512DEAB-AE80-410E-B990-BFF19431776C.jpeg
    6512DEAB-AE80-410E-B990-BFF19431776C.jpeg
    329.8 KB · Views: 113

Fidur

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Quite interesting. I also have one of these dawn redwood forests, and like you I am a beginner. So let's wait for someone else......

TinyArt

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
And I'm curious, so I'll give a bump to stay on the first page!

Underdog

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
You absolutely can and should be pruning D Redwood this time of year. Look for a caramel colored bud closest to the trunk to cut back to. Mine stay out all winter in zone 6

Haines' Trees

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I’m in Zone 5, I bury the pot in November and didn’t dig it out until the end of March this last year.