Somewhat new to Bonsai, not sure what to do with overgrown Chinese Elm

marcaddeo

Seed
Reaction score
Hi, I'm somewhat new to Bonsai in the sense that I do not know what I'm doing haha. I've been keeping a Chinese Elm for the past four years and just... never got around to trimming it or repotting it. So basically, it's very overgrown.

I was wondering what my best course of action for this tree? I think it still looks pretty healthy.. Here are some images: http://imgur.com/a/tO9g0#0

bonsai barry

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
It's a bit tricky seeing the branching in these photos. It is most helpful if the photos are taken at "Ground level" that is, with the pot being the ground.

My first thought is, do you keep this tree indoors? If so, it will not live too long. It looks like it has a decent base, so I think you have some potential. Can you take it outside and shoot a couple more pictures?

Chinese elm grow fast, and they sprout new branches easily so you'll have fun with this tree.

marcaddeo

Seed
Reaction score
It's always been difficult capturing a picture of this tree, the branches go every which way. Can you suggest an angle that would provide more insight for you?

Why do you not think it will live indoors for very long? I've had it indoors for the past four years.

fourteener

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
image.jpg

I wasn't sure where to start. It does look healthy, it does look overgrown. Your pruning issues are two fold. First it's so overgrown it has to be clipped back pretty hard. But you need to have an idea of the branches you want to keep. It's hard for us to see either.

I included the picture of my elm to show you how you need to select certain branches to keep. At this point on my tree the buds grow out then after a month or so I cut it back to only 1-3 leaves on that growth point. I do that two- three times in the summer.