Sourcing Substrate?

Haines' Trees

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
So where is thought of as the best source for a handy substrate? I'm still learning so I think a premixed substrate might be best for me right now, and there are so many brands all claiming to be the best with 5 star reviews.... Where do all of yall get your substrate?

Ovid

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
I buy lava rock from hardware stores, crush it, and sieve it myself. It’s about $5 a bag and I’ve barely dented the bag. You can then add some organic soil like peat moss or pine bark if you feel the need. Like Sorce said, Napa #8822 is great and your trees can be planted in 100% of it, just make sure to sieve. Napa #8822 is diatomaceous earth, make sure not to buy fulmers earth.

markyscott

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
So where is thought of as the best source for a handy substrate? I'm still learning so I think a premixed substrate might be best for me right now, and there are so many brands all claiming to be the best with 5 star reviews.... Where do all of yall get your substrate?

I buy in bulk. It’s the most economical way to do it. There is a pretty complete list of sources in this resource.

S

MrWunderful

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
Most landscape supply lots can get you horticultural lava, pine bark and some can get pumice.

Traken

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Depending on what you're specifically looking for, and if you prefer to shop locally, you can get things like pumice, akadama, lava, kanuma, and pre-mixed soils from The Hidden Gardens in Willowbrook. You can also get various substrates from BC Bonsai in Wheaton. I can't recall if they specifically pre-mix it, but they do carry things like pumice and akadama and also carry things like turface, if that's what you prefer. (at least the last time I checked. It's been a while since I've been there.)

River's Edge

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b