Species Study - Acer Freemani

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
These Specific Species Study Threads will serve for the documentation and discussion of growing young plants, upwards, together, towards a common “TinyTree” presentation goal.

Acer Freemani....

One of my favorites... But not very understood..

Let's talk about/share them!

(When I have some full leaves) I will 'post up' also).

🤓

Kanorin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I have a forest of these that I've been growing from seed for 2 years - I originally thought they were acer rubrum, but I think most are probably hybrid rubrum x silver aka "Freemani."

So far, in my Missouri climate, they are quite indestructible (got that hybrid vigor). Another thing I've noticed is that while Japanese Maples will basically stop growing from about July 1 to September 15th or so (High temperatures are usually between 90 and 105 degrees here), these will keep growing through the summer heat, maybe adding a node or two every two weeks to the leader.

Soon I'm gonna try ~90% defoliation (fully defoliate the crown, keep a few half leaves on the lower branches) and see if I can get some more ramification and a smaller second flush of leaves. I'll post some pictures!

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Awesome!!

Soon, when all my seedling's leaves are ACTUALLY opened/matured.. I'll be able to ID which (if any) of them appear to be Freemani.

I will also be taking cuttings off of that naturally stunted Autumn Blaze I've observed( a good 1/3 - 1/2 smaller than the others ((there are many)) planted in my area). I tried taking late-winter cuttings of said specimen last year.. unsuccessfully. 🤓

Kanorin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Another interesting observation: while the spring push generated long internodes for me last year, the growth that it put on during the hot summer months had quite small nodes. Might be unique to my climate