sphagnum moss came back to life

xisbi

Sapling
Reaction score
Hi

I bought dried sphagnum moss from amazon for air layering. I spread around some of it on top of the soil of one of my plants to keep the top moist, the other day I noticed patches of green life sphagnum moss. I am new at this so I don't know the effects of life sphagnum moss will have on my tree. Should I remove the live patches and replace with dead moss?

xisbi

Sapling
Reaction score
I had the sphagnum moss there only for few days, and this is indoors. I will take a picture and post when I get home.

sparklemotion

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b
Dried spaghnum moss isn't necessarily dead, and even if it is, there may be spores that can reactivate in the right circumstances.

Based on the timing (a few days), I'm betting on "not completely dead" (only mostly dead?)

Pics would help. What color was the spaghnum when you got it? Was it a pretty uniform taupe with some brown? Or was some of it green-but-dry?

sparklemotion

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b
Oh... I should add that live spaghnum moss is a++ good for your airlayer. All the nice anti-microbial properties, but alive now... so more active. Peter Chan recommends growing sick or recently collected trees in straight live spaghnum for at least a season to establish healthy roots.

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
I have grown sphagnum moss for nearly a decade. It can revive from dried material with relative ease. Sometimes even some drosera rotundifolia popped up.
However, once you start fertilizing, you might kill it. It doesn't take pot conditions very well and it needs constant moisture; I had to grow it in a man-made bog to keep it healthy. It might be a sign that things are being kept too wet.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi