Spider mites on kishu

bonsaiboyphx

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9B
I have a nice Kishu, and did the white paper test, and am seeing a few spider mites.

I'm not seeing a ton of them on the paper, but they are there. When i smush them, I see brown/reddish streaks.

I've noticed a few other signs as well. Foliage ion the lower branches looks a bit duller than the top canopy. I dont think it looks super dull, but def not as bright green as the upper canopy.

And I also noticed a few small jumping spiders on this tree (figure they are eating the mites or insects as prey).

I am fairly new to bonsai, and this is my first mite issue, so looking for advice.

Also, do mites like other trees besides juniper or kishu. I tested all my other trees via the white paper test, and don't see them on the other trees, (willow leaf ficus, rain tree, procumbens juniper, trident, chinese elm). It's only the kishu.

Someone who I trust recommended Mite-X. Also, I read somewhere that submersing the entire tree in water for a period of time will get rid of them.

I am in Phoenix, AZ, hot and dry. I have my trees under Aluminet Shade cloth.

And I top water all the trees with RO/distilled water.

Since I noticed the mites on the kishu, I started hosing it down to try and get them off, but its not doing the trick. They are still present despite hard spraying with a hose.

Any tips, help, comments on how the foilage looks, best way to treat will be helpful. Hoping i caught this early and can get a handle on it before too much damage is done

Thanks in advance.

Richard

Attachments

• IMG_3031.jpg
    IMG_3031.jpg
    93.3 KB · Views: 43
  • IMG_3032.jpg
    IMG_3032.jpg
    93.8 KB · Views: 42
  • IMG_3033.jpg
    IMG_3033.jpg
    88.5 KB · Views: 41
  • IMG_3034.jpg
    IMG_3034.jpg
    96.7 KB · Views: 42
  • IMG_3035.jpg
    IMG_3035.jpg
    99.5 KB · Views: 37
  • IMG_3036.jpg
    IMG_3036.jpg
    96.1 KB · Views: 36
  • IMG_3037.jpg
    IMG_3037.jpg
    81.6 KB · Views: 32