Spring japanese maple cuttings?

equanox1

Seedling
Reaction score
I'm not sure exactly what japanese maple this is, but I planted it when i was 11, I'm 25 now.
I've never tried taking cuttings from maples before, but I was wondering if spring would be the best time to Attempt to take cuttings from this maple? I guess i could google for that answer, but Figured i'de ask people with a lot more experience, than just googling a possibly wrong answer.

This maple turns a gorgeous dark purple every year. as it is right now, it's still green, but it's starting to darken it's leaves on the tips a little bit but not really noticeable that much. I'll take more pics of it when it turns dark purple.
I did a little work on a couple of the top branches last year to try and help it widen itself instead of just grow completely upward, other than those few branches i cut, it's never had anything done to it.

I don't have any maples planned for bonsai, but I'de like to try with this maple, especially since the history i have with it. So yeah, taking cuttings from it to use for bonsai later on, really intrigues me!

i hope you guys can see this maple good enough, I'm not too sure how well anyone can see it in this picture.

View media item 1882

aml1014

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
The first thing that caught my eye in the first picture was the giant pine branch with the giant curved limb, pretty cool. Your japanese maple is doing wonderful hope to see some updates next year.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Sure does look nice.!

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
The leafs are a lot like 'Hogyoku', but 'Hogyoku' turns orange like a pumpkin, not purple (dark red). Maybe it is 'Osakazuki' - I don't know that this cultivar was around 14-15 years ago.

aframe

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b