Spruce Bonsai Bulb Repair

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I bought this spruce tree from a nursery and I am trying to make it into a bonsai. This is my first attempt at it.

My question is can I remove the two bulbs on the trunk safely?

If I leave them alone and just cut them right close to the trunk will the trunk eventually grow into the bulb and make it look natural?

I was also thinking about contorting the trunk drastically in an attempt to hide these ugly bulbs. Any advise would be appreciated I am wanting to wire up the branches shortly here. Any further advise or opinions about my tree would be appreciated as well I like the bottom of the trunk.

Thanks!

Attachments

• 20130831_201701[2].jpg
    20130831_201701[2].jpg
    200 KB · Views: 68
  • 20130831_201719[1].jpg
    20130831_201719[1].jpg
    186.2 KB · Views: 64

october

Masterpiece
Reaction score
Welcome lancekrebs18,
This has the potential to become a very nice bonsai. However, if you are not knowledeable about pruning the species, you can ruin or even kill the tree pretty easilly. I would highly suggest seeking out a bonsai club or an experienced teacher. Maybe take it to a work shop. I would not practice on this tree or be in a hurry to style it. if you can get help this Fall, that is a good time to work on Spruce. If you cannot, I would recommend waiting until next year. It has a nice base and lower trunk.

I would start reading up on the care and pruning of the species and also familiarize yourself with the 5 styles of bonsai.

Rob

Reaction score
Hi Rob,