Starting Chinese Elm from seed

Yusuf

Seed
Reaction score
Hi there,
I'm an absolute beginner, I would like to know how to germinate an elm seed ( Ulmus Parvifolia). I have Vermiculite,Perlite and Canadian Sphagnum Peat Moss.
please advise in detail

Anthony

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Yusuf,

if you can try the roots of the elm, easy to do and they often have lots of character.

Just cut the roots, into say 2" pieces or you can go much longer, leave about 1/2 " above the soil and in 3 to 6 weeks shoots will come out of the cambian at the sides of the cut.

Good Morning
Anthony

cmeg1

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a