Starting on my 3rd Bonsai HELP

BondaiNate

Sapling
Reaction score
So I'm giving a go on my 3rd bonsai and I'm not really sure what to do with it. It's a Dwarf Alberta Spruce. I cut some branches away including dead branches and small branches. Not sure what to do with the top yet. Any ideas? Image examples help a lot!

Thanks!

Attachments

• 15551948321236361523160956481239.jpg
    15551948321236361523160956481239.jpg
    275.9 KB · Views: 94
  • 15551948887455840333835008069878.jpg
    15551948887455840333835008069878.jpg
    289.3 KB · Views: 105

coltranem

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I am still a beginner but I have one. It is a work in progress. I tried following the bonsai4me.com schedule last year. My last picture was before I wired in November unfortunately the branches I wired lost all their needles over winter. However the buds look strong and are swelling so my fingers are crossed. I agree the lower branches look to long. You can try following some of the bonsai4me techniques to chase back growth on those. Another option may be losing those and working with the upper growth creating a taller tree. However I don't think you want to use the full height. Try to sort out some of those clusters of branches by reducing the quantity in one location.

20180902_182050.jpg

BondaiNate

Sapling
Reaction score
Thanks for all the feedback so far! I currently live in Ohio. I would say the weather is u predictable most months but typically more cool to cold during the majority of the year

jimib

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Where in Ohio? There are several members on here in Ohio. I’m central, just south east of Columbus.

jimib

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'm in Grove City