Starting with common flowering quince, Chaenomeles speciosa

Michael P

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I am just beginning to work with flowering quince. My "trees" are not the true chojubai variety, but some large-growing C. speciosa collected from an old garden. Is it true that the same bonsai techniques work on this species?

They were bare-rooted out of the garden in February, and are now recovering in a large nursery pot. Surprisingly, 100% survived being separated from a clump and having their roots pruned. They are all healthy and growing. When would be the best time to move them into training pots in my hot climate?

I don't expect these to look like chojubai, but I am curious to see what I can do with their natural upright growth habit. Thanks for any input!

River's Edge

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I am just beginning to work with flowering quince. My "trees" are not the true chojubai variety, but some large-growing C. speciosa collected from an old garden. Is it true that the same bonsai techniques work on this species?

They were bare-rooted out of the garden in February, and are now recovering in a large nursery pot. Surprisingly, 100% survived being separated from a clump and having their roots pruned. They are all healthy and growing. When would be the best time to move them into training pots in my hot climate?

I don't expect these to look like chojubai, but I am curious to see what I can do with their natural upright growth habit. Thanks for any input!
There is a great article on the Houston Bonsai Society website, discussing quince with a lot of specific information on the various sub species, including C. specoisa.
It would be a great starting resource for you. If my memory serve me it was in one of the recent newsletters.

Michael P

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a