Starting

one_bonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
Hi I'm new to Bonsai and would like to know the best place to start. I don't want to get a ready made bonsai, I want to start one from scratch. What would be the best way to proceed?

Fonz

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Welcome aboard!

That's a tough question. It depends on what yo want to achieve.
Do you want to start absolutely from scratch like sowing seeds and waiting 20 years before your bonsai is ready? Or do you want to start with "starter"-trees, trees with the potential to become bonsai trees, sold in special bonsai nurseries?
You can also collect your own material in a nearby forest but you should know what to look for ofcourse.
You can also go to a nursery and buy some nursery plants and start your journey there (learn how to take care of trees in pots, learn to wire, learn to…)

You can also do numerous other things….

D

Deleted member 21616

Hi I'm new to Bonsai and would like to know the best place to start. I don't want to get a ready made bonsai, I want to start one from scratch. What would be the best way to proceed?

welcome!

1 - it would be helpful if you added your location to your profile

2 - find a local club, or nursery. ask questions, especially regarding what species are suitable for your climate, space, the conditions you can provide, and least of all, your preferences.

3 - read as much as you can on this forum. the search function will be your best friend for the next year.

4 - if you haven't already, visit the nearest bonsai garden or museum

5 - your first tree won't be your last tree, nor your show tree. take a risk, have fun, learn.

6 - bonsai mirai has some free videos that i personally found VERY useful when it came to understanding plant physiology. a lot of questions on this forum are essentially questions about how trees in general, or a species in particular, functions physically/chemically in relation to certain practices, interventions, conditions or diseases

one_bonsai