Stepping back in

thams

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Hi everyone,

After taking a good year off of bonsai, I've decided to step back into the realm of tiny trees. For all intents and purposes, I'm coming back to the hobby as a complete beginner. After some time to reflect on my participation in the hobby, I've come to some important conclusions. First and foremost, I just didn't have the patience needed to see my trees through their optimal potential. Second, I didn't take the time to learn the most fundamental skills of bonsai - watering, wiring, and repotting. That's not to say I was utterly lost. I just didn't put in the necessary time to refine those skills.

So with all that being said, I've purchased a tree that I plan to keep for the long haul. I love olives and I've always wanted one with a massive squat trunk sporting some deadwood. I saw this one at New England Bonsai and I had to have it. I plan to take my time with it. A lifetime if need be, but I'm certain I can have something special in 5 to 7 years. I just need some patience. :)

Photo curtesy of New England Bonsai

Attachments

• TM_29WildOlive-2-600x600.jpg
    TM_29WildOlive-2-600x600.jpg
    52.4 KB · Views: 96

Redwood Ryan

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
Yay, welcome back Tom!

I've always wondered, are Olives indoors or outdoors in our area?

thams

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Yay, welcome back Tom!

I've always wondered, are Olives indoors or outdoors in our area?

Thanks, brother! Olives are largely outdoor trees, especially during the warm months. They should be protected at below freezing temps though. For us that would mean a garage, shed, or some sort of shelter during the bitter months. I know Martha (at Meehan's) keeps her Olives in the greenhouse year 'round which gets pretty chilly in the winter. I think the key for Olives is high light and open soil.

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
And they grow like weeds!