Strange plants growing around my bonsai tree

lape99

Seedling
Reaction score
In the photo you can see some strange plants growing around my bonsai tree. What are they? Should I get rid of them? Because my bonsai started loosing its leaves, or maybe it is normal because all of the trees in my country seasonally drop leaves?
Also, maybe someone could tell me, what kind of bonsai tree is it?
Thank you.

Attachments

• DSCI0674.jpg
    DSCI0674.jpg
    195.9 KB · Views: 311

Deadwood

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'm no expert, but id probably remove them. Most likely they are some kind of weed and could be robbing nutrients from the tree. What sort of soil do you have? I'm not sure but is probably a ficus variety.

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Remove those weeds. You will see more sprout later, just keep removing it.

I would guess your tree is a pomegranate but not certain. If you can post better pics, more may be able to help.

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
Most likely they are some kind of weed

They're weeds, by definition. A weed is any plant that is growing where you don't want it to grow.

Remove them -- if only because they're ugly.

Vance Wood

Lord Mugo
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6
In the photo you can see some strange plants growing around my bonsai tree. What are they? Should I get rid of them? Because my bonsai started loosing its leaves, or maybe it is normal because all of the trees in my country seasonally drop leaves?
Also, maybe someone could tell me, what kind of bonsai tree is it?
Thank you.
Weeds are by definition unwanted or uninvited plants that grow where they were not intended. They should go. If your photo is any indication I would say that the foliage on the tree looks weak and stressed out probably because those obviously vigorous and corpulent weeds are sucking the life out of the tree's environment. Weeds can, if let grow wild, strangle the life out of a bonsai tree.

mat

Chumono